group profile

Board and management


Allen Ambor (74)
48 years’ service
B.A. – University of Witwatersrand
Allen opened the first Spur Steak Ranch in 1967. He is the creative custodian for all TV, radio and print advertisements. He is involved in the interaction between group marketing and the brand agencies, and guides the board on issues that have substantive bearing on the future direction and strategy of the company.

Pierre van Tonder (56)
33 years’ service

Pierre joined the group in 1982 as a junior restaurant manager. He held several senior management positions before being appointed as director of Spur Steak Ranches Ltd and Spur Holdings in 1992. Pierre was appointed as managing director/chief executive officer in 1996.

Pierre is responsible for the group’s overall strategy and operations. He is also the group’s chief risk officer, the chairman of the risk, transformation, human resources productivity and treasury committees and a member of the social, ethics and sustainability committee.

Mark Farrelly (51)
25 years’ service
B.A. – University of Cape Town

Mark joined Spur Corporation in 1990 as an operations manager and was promoted to regional operations manager in 1995. He was appointed to the board in 1999 and appointed as chief operating officer in 2012.

Mark is responsible for developing and implementing the local group strategy.

Ronel van Dijk (43)
12 years’ service
B.Acc (Hons) – University of Stellenbosch; CA(SA)

Ronel joined Spur Corporation as group financial manager in 2003. In 2005, she was appointed as chief financial officer and company secretary, joining the board in 2006.

Ronel is responsible for the finance, administrative, legal and compliance functions of the group. She also fulfils a supervisory function for information technology, human resources and transformation. She has been involved in the international growth strategy of the group since 2008 and was appointed as the chairperson of the Spur Foundation Trust’s board of trustees in 2014. She fulfilled the role of company secretary until 9 September 2015.



Keith Getz (59)
24 years’ service
B.Proc; LLM – University of Cape Town
Keith is a practising attorney and a senior partner of Bernadt Vukic Potash & Getz, the group’s principal legal counsel. He was appointed to the board in 1991. Keith is a director of various international subsidiaries of the group, and chairs the social, ethics and sustainability committee. He sits on the boards of Mr Price Group Ltd and various private companies.

Dean Hyde (48)
21 years’ service
B.Com (Legal) – University of Witwatersrand;
Canadian Chartered Accountants’ Board Examination
Dean joined Spur Corporation as financial manager and was the financial director for five years. He resigned in 2004 and was subsequently appointed as a non-executive director. Dean is currently the chief financial officer of Lombard Insurance Ltd. Dean chairs the audit committee.

Muzi Kuzwayo (47)
7 years’ service
B.Sc (Biochemistry and Microbiology) – Rhodes University; Executive MBA –
University of Cape Town
Muzi is a visiting professor at the UCT Graduate School of Business. He is the founding chief executive officer of Ignitive, a marketing and advertising consulting company. Muzi is an author and a commentator on advertising and marketing. He was appointed to the board in 2008 and is a member of the group’s audit, nominations and transformation committees. He chairs the remuneration committee.

Keith Madders MBE (67)
20 years’ service
B.Com (Economics) – University of Cape Town
Keith trained as an investment analyst before joining the music industry. He lectured and established various businesses and charitable organisations in the UK, where he was awarded an MBE in the Queen’s 2002 Honours List for services to the Zimbabwe Trust.

Dineo Molefe (38)
2 years’ service
B.Compt (Hons) – Unisa; Masters’
in International Accounting – University of Johannesburg; CA(SA); Advanced Management Program – Wharton Business School, University of Pennsylvania
Dineo held various audit and finance positions at the Industrial Development Corporation, Eskom Holdings Ltd and Sizwe Ntsaluba VSP. She previously served as the group financial director of Thebe Investment Corporation (including as director of several of that company’s subsidiaries, associates and investee companies) and is currently managing executive for financial planning and analysis at Vodacom. She was appointed to the board in September 2013 and is a member of the audit committee.

Mntungwa Morojele (56)
5 years’ service
CA (Lesotho); Higher National Diploma in Business Studies – Farnborough College of Technology, UK; Bachelor’s of Business Administration – University of Charleston, USA; M.Acc – Georgetown University, USA; MBA – University of Cape Town
Mntungwa has established and managed various companies including Briske Performance Solutions and Motebong Tourism Investment Holdings (Pty) Ltd. He has served on the boards of Gray Security Services Ltd and the UCS Group Ltd. He was appointed to the Spur Corporation board in 2010 and appointed as lead independent director on 1 March 2011. He is also a member of the group’s audit, remuneration and transformation committees and is chairman of the nominations committee.

Alan Keet (47)
Appointed pursuant to the terms of the B-BBEE agreement with GPI
B.Compt (Hons) – Unisa; CA(SA)

Alan is the chief executive officer of Grand Parade Investments, a position which he has held since April 2012. He previously served as the chief executive officer of Nolands Cape Town and Nolands South Africa, where he completed his articles and subsequently became a partner in 1998.

Alan was appointed to the Spur Corporation board on 2 February 2015 and shareholders will be asked to confirm his appointment at the AGM on 4 December 2015.


Brian Altriche (45)
Chief operating officer: RocoMamas
Employed 1 March 2015

Samkelo Blom (43)
Group human resource and transformation
2 years of service

Robin Charles (41)
National procurement executive
7 years of service

Leonard Coetzee (42)
Chief operating officer: John Dory’s
19 years of service

Sacha du Plessis (37)
Group marketing executive
8 years of service

Justin Fortune (43)
Chief operating officer: The Hussar Grill
15 years of service


Blaine Freer (50)
Group development executive
16 years of service

Tyrone Herdman-Grant (44)
Chief operating officer: Panarottis
17 years of service

Cobus Jooste (39)
National training executive
10 years of service

Derick Koekemoer (45)
Franchise executive: Africa
11 years of service

Patrick Lawson (44)
Group business intelligence executive
6 years of service

David Maich (43)
Franchise executive: UK
4 years of service


Phillip Matthee (37)
Group finance executive
8 years of service

Julian Odendaal (39)
Chief operating officer: Captain DoRegos
9 years of service

Kevin Robertson (49)
National franchise executive
24 years of service

José Vilar (57)
Franchise executive: Australia
24 years of service

Duncan Werner (55)
Group procurement and
development executive
27 years of service

Peter Wright (64)
Group human resource executive
24 years of service